MINUTES

MERCER COUNTY REGIONAL PLANNING COMMISSION

Tuesday – December 19, 2017 - 7:30 p.m. – MCRPC Offices

MUNICIPALITY	PRESENT	ABSENT
FARRELL CITY		Stephen Bennefield
. <u>.</u>		Kimberly Doss
HERMITAGE CITY	Jeremy Coxe	James Holl
SHARON CITY	Stephen Theiss	Frank Connelly
CLARK BOROUGH		James Carucci, Sr.
FREDONIA BOROUGH	Patricia McAdams	Bob Reagle
GREENVILLE BOROUGH		Benjamin Beck
		Janet Earle
GROVE CITY BOROUGH		Shawn P. Myers
JACKSON CENTER BOROUGH		Robert Egger
JAMESTOWN BOROUGH		
MERCER BOROUGH		Jerry Johnson
NEW LEBANON BOROUGH		•
SANDY LAKE BOROUGH		Shelby Clark
		Andrew Morris
SHARPSVILLE BOROUGH		Alex Kovach
		Guy Moderelli
STONEBORO BOROUGH	John Sweet	
WEST MIDDLESEX BOROUGH	Maleia James	
	Robert Lark	
WHEATLAND BOROUGH	Dave Jones	Patricia Lewis
COOLSPRING TOWNSHIP	Robert L. McGhee	Don Blakesley
DELAWARE TOWNSHIP	William E. Anthony	
E. LACKAWANNOCK TOWNSHIP		
FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP		Mont Clark
FINDLEY TOWNSHIP	John B. Courtney	Steve Paxton
GREENE TOWNSHIP		Ken Cowher
		Paul Csonka
HEMPFIELD TOWNSHIP	Lisa Holm	Todd Hittle
JACKSON TOWNSHIP		Richard Marks
		Robert W. Pizor
JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP	Garth Falkner	William Dunn
LACKAWANNOCK TOWNSHIP		Richard Schuller
I AVE TOWNSHIP		Jody Scopack
LAKE TOWNSHIP	D D	
LIBERTY TOWNSHIP	Dave Beatty	
NEW VEDNON TOWNSHIP	Ron Faull	Daniel I. Betterson
NEW VERNON TOWNSHIP		Daniel L. Patterson

MUNICIPALITY	PRESENT	ABSENT
OTTER CREEK TOWNSHIP	Carl Swartz	
	Paulette Young	
PERRY TOWNSHIP		
PINE TOWNSHIP	George Hagstrom	Fred Brenner
PYMATUNING TOWNSHIP		Gary R. Lowers
		Ed Robinson
SANDY LAKE TOWNSHIP	Helen Winger	Raymond Scofield
SHENANGO TOWNSHIP	Dennis DeSilvey	
	Matthew Stefanak	
S. PYMATUNING TOWNSHIP	Don Morrow	Rose Lyons
SPRINGFIELD TOWNSHIP	Rick Dillaman	
WILMINGTON TOWNSHIP	Diana Caiazza	Chad Taylor
WOLF CREEK TOWNSHIP	Gregory Chiappini	Jim Morton
MERCER COUNTY	Jeff Hoy	Jeff Fiedler
	James Hughes	James Hogan
	Larry McAdams	Sheryl Kelly
		Patty McCluskey
BOROUGHS ASSOCIATION		
SUPERVISORS ASSOCIATION		
COUNTY COMMISSIONER	Matt McConnell	

STAFF

OTHERS PRESENT

Dan Gracenin, Executive Director Carmen Reichard, Assistant Director Chris Conti, Senior Planner Brian Barnhizer, Senior Planner Matt Stewart, Senior Planner Lisa Holm, Senior Planner

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Garth Falkner, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 7:30 p.m.

PRAYER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Mr. Jeremy Coxe, Vice-Chairman, led the Commission in the prayer and Pledge of Allegiance.

ATTENDANCE SIGN IN

An attendance sign-in sheet was passed around and representatives present were asked to mark their attendance. A quorum was present.

PUBLIC COMMENTS ON ANY AGENDA ITEM

There were no public comments.

RATIFICATION OF ACTIONS TAKEN WITHOUT A QUORUM AT AND MINUTES OF THE NOVEMBER 28, 2017 MEETING

Mr. Falkner, Chairman, explained that the Commission needs to ratify the actions taken without a quorum at the November 28, 2017 meeting and also to approve the Minutes of that meeting. A motion was made by Mr. Morrow and seconded by Mr. Anthony to ratify the actions taken without a quorum at the November 28, 2017 meeting and approve the Minutes of that meeting with no additions, corrections or deletions. The motion passed.

FINANCIAL STATEMENT

Mr. Carl Swartz, Treasurer, presented the November 2017 Financial Statement. A motion was made by Mr. Sweet and seconded by Mr. Beatty to approve the November 2017 Financial Statement. The motion passed.

STAFF REPORTS

Mr. Stewart, Senior Planner, stated that STU applications are due January 19, 2018, if you are planning to apply for one.

Mr. Gracenin, Executive Director, noted that Lackawannock Township has requested to withdraw from the Commission. Discussions were held with Supervisor Terry Whalen and information was emailed to him regarding the types of services that have been provided to the Township, back to when they joined the Commission in 2011. Mr. Whalen noted that the Township will discuss this again at their reorganizational meeting in January, and hopefully they will reconsider. Also, he noted that Attorney Jim Nevant had a heart attack a couple of weeks ago; he is at home and doing well, but he is not back in the office yet. Mr. Gracenin wished him well and asked others to keep him in their thoughts and prayers.

2018 MEETING SCHEDULE

Mr. Falkner, Chairman, mentioned that there is a handout at the front table which lists the dates for the 2018 Commission meetings. It was noted that the April 24th meeting is the same time as the PSATS Conference. Mr. Gracenin noted that he is aware of this and we will adjust our meeting if need be.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT AND ELECTION OF 2018 OFFICERS

Mr. Bill Anthony explained that the Nominating Committee presented the following slate of officers for 2018:

Jeremy Coxe (City of Hermitage) – Chairman Dennis DeSilvey (Shenango Township) – Vice-Chairman Carl Swartz (Otter Creek Township) – Secretary Gary Lowers (Pymatuning Township) – Treasurer

Mr. Anthony mentioned that the floor is open for additional nominations, if any. None were forthcoming. A motion was made by Mr. Anthony to close the nominations and to cast a unanimous ballot for the slate of officers for 2018. Mr. Hoy seconded. The motion passed.

ANNUAL AWARDS AND RECONGITIONS

Mr. Gracenin thanked all of the Commission members who attend one or all of the meetings for their support and cooperation throughout the year.

Awards – Perfect Attendance at MCRPC meetings during 2017: John Sweet; Ron Faull; Bill Anthony; Larry McAdams; Patty McAdams; Dave Jones; Carl Swartz; John Courtney and Jeff Hoy.

25 Years Service Award – Jeff Hoy

OTHER BUSINESS

Mr. Gracenin thanked everyone again for participating and all of their support throughout the year. He mentioned that the staff has been busy updating a number of zoning ordinances. He explained the benefits Lackawannock Township received since they joined in 2011. Lackawannock Township paid just under \$13,000 for their membership over the past 7 years and we brought in roughly \$311,000 for writing their application and getting HOME money, County CDBG monies and an Affordable Housing Trust Fund grant for their Township.

ADJOURNMENT

With no	further	business or	discussion,	Mr.	Faull	made a	a motion	to ad	journ	the mee	eting a	ıt 7:45	p.m.

Dennis DeSilvey, Secretary – MCRPC

Date: